Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews (Kate Daniels #6) | Book Review

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews Review Cover
Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews Book Cover

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews

Cinnamon Rolls Rating:
2 Stars Rating

Genres: Urban Fantasy, Romance, Adult

Series: Kate Daniels, Book #6

Book Synopsis:

Atlanta is a city plagued by magical problems. Kate Daniels will fight to solve them—no matter the cost.


Mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate, Curran, the Beast Lord, are struggling to solve a heartbreaking crisis. Unable to control their beasts, many of the Pack’s shapeshifting children fail to survive to adulthood. While there is a medicine that can help, the secret to its making is closely guarded by the European packs, and there’s little available in Atlanta.


Kate can’t bear to watch innocents suffer, but the solution she and Curran have found threatens to be even more painful. The European shapeshifters who once outmaneuvered the Beast Lord have asked him to arbitrate a dispute—and they’ll pay him in medicine. With the young people’s survival and the Pack’s future at stake, Kate and Curran know they must accept the offer—but they have little doubt that they’re heading straight into a trap…

Text Divider

Book Review of Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews


What. The. Fuck?
This was one of my favorite series! How the hell did they manage to fuck it up so much?! I am raging! This drama shit was too close to home for me and I will tell you why, but first I gotta rage!

There are so many things wrong with this book. I have to say, I still love Kate. She’s badass and cool. But fuck Curran! Loving Curran has turned Kate soft and mushy and at times I miss her occasional self-serving attitude.
Okay so this series was going in the right direction. There was action, a kickass heroine, hotness, lovable side characters (looking at my boys Barabas and Derek), and super cool mythological creatures to destroy. The world building is designed in a such a way that you could pull anything out of your ass and it would work. There are endless possibilities for endless books in this world. Then why oh why dear authors, did you have to go and dump a heavy amount of DRAMA into my favorite series?!

Usually in romantic literature, lovers don’t really and officially get together until the end of the book or series. But Curran and Kate did. So probably in order to introduce some challenges to that front, our dear authors decided to cook up some drama so that, God forbid, we don’t get tired of happiness.
Here’s my question though: WHY isn’t it okay for a couple to maintain a strong and comfortable relationship without third-party drama? Maybe they could have some differences they could overcome, or explore more about how to improve their relationship. Maybe those could be some challenges to keep things going. I would happily read that. What I don’t stand for though, is unnecessary dumb pretty women who come in between a couple and try to ruin them and for this to go on for more than 60 percent of the book! And for dumbness heroes who encourage this. You’re supposed to be better than the average male, dude! That’s why I’m reading about you.

Now I know that there was some half-assed explanation to this and Curran’s behavior was supposed to be justified. But no! I’ve been in a relationship where the guy was a dick and made me miserable and then came to me and apologized and begged me not to leave him. That entire scene was a punch to my gut. Kate can’t leave him because he’s her happiness and that is supposed to be romantic and we’re supposed feel all warm and fuzzy and bask in this happy couple’s love. But nobody is your happiness but yourself and this type of relationship ends shitty and you will feel like shit and it’s all just a big stinky pile of shit!
The ugly truth here that I can’t ignore which makes me so mad because I really want to is that Curran is a little shit who doesn’t trust his woman enough to tell her the truth and Kate doesn’t trust Curran all that much and in their own words they are too screwed up for anyone else to love and that is not a reason to be together. The only reason they’re going to work is because the authors say so, otherwise this whole ship is doomed!

In short, the authors managed to fuck up this entire relationship for me in a single book and I don’t know where we’re gonna go from here. The only way I can move forward with this series is to pretend that this shit never happened!

To be honest, a small part of me ships Kate with Hugh!

But hear me out! If Hugh was not trying to kill us and was instead written as a misunderstood hotty who did not have a choice but to be this way and went out of his way to woo us, more than half of you would be on that ship with me! Angst works! And we’ve all shipped worse.
Though, the lack of angst and drama is the thing that attracts me to Hugh. He’s just… for lack of a better word… hot!

Anyways, moving on from the drama and the doomed love affairs, the rest of the book was just meh for me. There could’ve been so much more “oomph” to rock our lives, but noooooo, the plot was all over the place and the mystery was boring.

I’ve run out of fuel and don’t feel like continuing this review!  So good luck with this book…

Tell me your thoughts

Have you read Magic Rises? What did you think of it?

What are some of your favorite Urban Fantasy?

What did you think of the romance? Do you agree with my views or do you think differently?

Thank you for reading
Rosaline's Rolls & Scrolls Blog Logo

Rosaline

Blogger & Book Reviewer

Real life is not enough, so let’s fly away to the land of books and dream!

Rosaline’s Rolls & Scrolls

Leave a comment